OMEA Holds Annual Meeting and Board Elections

Published on: 09/29/2022

COLUMBUS, OH: The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership during the annual OMEA General Membership meeting, which took place in Columbus on Sept. 28.

The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities. The communities of Cuyahoga Falls (Mayor Don Walters), Dover (Mayor Shane Gunnoe), Pioneer (Mayor Ed Kidston) and Wadsworth (Mayor Robin Laubaugh) were re-elected to four-year terms on the OMEA Board of Directors. Additionally, the City of Wapakoneta (Mayor Steve Henderson) and the Village of Jackson Center (Council President Wayne York) were elected as ex officio members of the OMEA Board.

“The mayors and councilmembers that make up the OMEA Board play a vital role in advocating for the rights of municipal electric communities in the state,” said Michel Beirne, OMEA executive director. “We are fortunate to have strong leadership from the three mayors serving on the Executive Committee as well as from the other elected officials on the Board.”

Following the election, the OMEA Board of Directors conducted its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected City of Wadsworth Mayor Robin Laubaugh as president of the Board. Village of Montpelier Mayor Steven Yagelski and City of Bryan Mayor Carrie Schlade were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

During the OMEA General Membership meeting, new honorary members were announced:

  • Joe Gibson, former mayor, City of Tipp City (retired in 2021)
  • Randy Severns, former utility superintendent, Village of Mendon (retired February 2022)
  • Dan Moats, former utilities director, City of Hamilton (retired in 2021)

The OMEA general membership selects honorary members in recognition of individuals whose dedication and service on behalf of public power has been of the highest order.