AMP Awards Program

The AMP Awards Program provides a great opportunity to draw attention to outstanding projects and people in your community. This is one way to let your peers and community know about your hard work and dedication.

AMP Annual Awards

Members can nominate themselves or others for the AMP Annual Awards. Award recipients are then recognized at the AMP Annual Conference. After the conference, a news release will be sent to the local media of those communities that received awards.

  • AMP Service Distinction Award  (Apply year-round)
    The AMP Service Distinction Program is designed to recognize employees of member public power utilities, partners and consultants who have made significant local contributions to public power.
  • Electric System Sustainabilty Award 
    The Electric System Sustainability Award was created to recognize utilities that have made significant efforts in sustainability. Sustainability can be defined as understanding the interconnections among economy, society and environment.
  • Hard Hat Safety Award 
    The Hard Hat Safety program was established to recognize an employee in each member community who demonstrates safety at all times.
  • Innovation Award  
    The Innovation Award recognizes municipal electric systems that have completed an innovative and/or unique project. Innovation as described in the dictionary is a new idea, device or method; the introduction of something new.  
  • Public Power Promotion Award 
    The Pubic Power Promotion Award recognizes utilities that have taken significant strides to promote public power through marketing, consumer awareness and branding.
  • Safety Award 
    The Safety Award recognizes municipal electric systems for their safety performance and encourages municipalities to improve their present safety program.  
  • Seven Hats Award 
    The Seven Hats Award recognizes a deserving utility manager from a smaller community with the prestigious Seven Hats Award. The award parallels American Public Power Association (APPA) requirements. The AMP recipient will be nominated for the APPA Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award.
  • System Improvement Award  
    The System Improvement Award was initiated to recognize utilities that have made a significant improvement in electric service and reliability to their customer-owners.