Joint Ventures

Through American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP), member communities obtain access to innovative projects that provide affordable, reliable electricity to their local customer-owners.

In the four existing Ohio Municipal Electric Generation Agency (OMEGA) joint ventures and the Municipal Energy Services Agency (MESA) joint venture, project participants use state authority allowing joint ventures of two or more municipalities. The concept has been very effective for power supply projects, allowing member communities to issue municipal bonds and share ownership of the projects.

OMEGA JV2 and JV5 involve distributed generation, which is production of electricity from diesel and natural gas units, sited closer to actual load. It is a key factor in providing a low-cost, reliable power supply for member communities. Distributed generation reduces the need for member communities to rely on short-term market power, particularly when fluctuations in price and availability occur.

For more information on AMP joint ventures, please contact Scott Kiesewetter, senior vice president generation operations, at 614.540.1111 or

Learn More About Specific Projects

Omega JV6

Formed in 2003, this joint venture built Ohio’s first utility-scale wind farm near Bowling Green, Ohio. AMP built the facility and operates it on behalf of the joint venture. Four turbines generate 7.2 MW of power.

Participants: Bowling Green, Cuyahoga Falls, Edgerton, Elmore, Monroeville, Montpelier, Napoleon, Oberlin, Pioneer, and Wadsworth.

Omega JV5

Formed in 1993 by 42 participating communities, AMP built and operates a 42-megawatt hydroelectric plant on the Ohio River on behalf of the joint venture and has back-up generation sources located throughout Ohio. The plant has two generating units with a FERC rated capacity of 21 MW per unit.

The Belleville plant passed a significant milestone in 2011, generating a total of 3,000,000 MWh since its commercial operation date started in 1999. The plant remains the flagship of AMP’s hydroelectric fleet and was instrumental in AMP’s pursuit of other hydro development. Voest Alpine MCE (now Andritz) supplied the turbines and generators.

Participants (in order of ownership percentage): Cuyahoga Falls, Bowling Green, Niles, Napoleon, Jackson, Hudson, Wadsworth, Oberlin, New Bremen, Bryan, Hubbard, Montpelier, Minster, Columbiana, Wellington, Versailles, Monroeville, Oak Harbor, Lodi, Pemberville, Edgerton, Arcanum, Seville, Brewster, Pioneer, Genoa, Jackson Center, Grafton, Elmore, Woodville, Milan, Bradner, Beach City, Prospect, Haskins, Lucas, Arcadia, South Vienna, Waynesfield, Eldorado, Republic and Custar.

Omega JV4

This joint venture was formed to oversee construction and operation of a 69-kilovolt sub-transmission line in Williams County.

Participants: Bryan, Edgerton, Montpelier and Pioneer.

Omega JV2

Formed in 2001, this joint venture owns three gas turbine distributed generation units and 35 diesel units with a total capacity of 138.65 MW at sites located across Ohio.

AMP manages the project on behalf of 36 participating member communities: Amherst, Arcanum, Bowling Green, Bradner, Brewster, Custar, Cuyahoga Falls, Dover, Edgerton, Elmore, Galion, Genoa, Grafton, Hamilton, Haskins, Jackson Center, Lodi, Lucas, Milan, Monroeville, Montpelier, Napoleon, Niles, Oak Harbor, Oberlin, Painesville, Pemberville, Pioneer, Seville, Shelby, South Vienna, St. Marys, Versailles, Wadsworth, Woodville and Yellow Springs.