Newsroom Archive

OMEA Holds Annual Meeting and Board Elections

Published on: 09/29/2023

COLUMBUS, OH: The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership during the annual OMEA General Membership meeting, which took place in Columbus on Sept. 27.

The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities. The communities of Edgerton, Montpelier, Napoleon and Orrville were re-elected to four-year terms on the OMEA Board of Directors. Additionally, the Village of Jackson Center was re-elected as an ex officio member of the OMEA Board.

“Each member of the OMEA Board plays a vital role in advocating for the rights of municipal electric communities in Ohio,” said Michael Beirne, OMEA executive director. “With the many challenges that we are facing in our industry, we are fortunate to have such strong leadership representing us on the Board of Directors.”

Following the election, the OMEA Board of Directors conducted its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected City of Wadsworth Mayor Robin Laubaugh as president of the Board. Village of Montpelier Mayor Steven Yagelski and City of Bryan Mayor Carrie Schlade were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

During the OMEA General Membership meeting, the following individuals were recognized and named OMEA Honorary Members:

  • Mayor Diane Conley – City of Westerville
  • Steve Dupee – City of Oberlin/Village of Wellington/AMP
  • Nate Gardner – City of Bryan
  • Council Member Garland Gates – City of Shelby
  • Mayor Dave Handwerk – City of Orrville
  • Mayor Steve Henderson – City of Wapakoneta
  • Marty Kanner – Kanner & Associates
  • Keith Kruse – Village of Woodville
  • Mayor Jason Maassel – City of Napoleon
  • Mayor Patrick McGowan – City of St. Marys
  • Doug McMillan – City of Oberlin
  • Ed Palestro – City of Hubbard
  • Michael Perry – City of Hamilton/AMP

The OMEA general membership selects honorary members in recognition of individuals whose dedication and service on behalf of public power has been of the highest order.