Newsroom Archive

AMP Awards Scholarships to 2023 Graduating High School Seniors

Published on: 03/24/2023

COLUMBUS, OH: American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) is pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the AMP Scholarships Program.

The AMP Board of Trustees established the scholarships program in memory of Richard H. Gorsuch and Lyle B. Wright, public power leaders who contributed significantly to the organization and municipal electric systems in the region.

The 2023 Gorsuch Scholarship recipients are:

  • Grant Beasley — Versailles High School, Versailles; parents, Jeff and Jodi Beasley
  • Jeff Beasley, Village Council member
  • Nathan Doll — Wapakoneta High School, Wapakoneta; parents, Chad and Kristin Doll
  • Chad Doll, City Council president
  • Lauren Johnson — Milton-Union High School, Troy, Ohio; parents, Jyle and Chris Johnson
  • Jyle Johnson, finance clerk II, Tipp City Utilities
  • Collin LaVeck — Bloom-Carroll High School, Carroll, Ohio; parents, Jack and Brenda LaVeck
  • Jack LaVeck, assistant vice president, enterprise risk management and strategic planning, AMP
  • Samuel Schmiesing — Piqua High School, Piqua; parents, Chris and Paula Schmiesing
  • Chris Schmiesing, community and economic development director, Piqua

The 2023 Wright Scholarship recipients are:

  • Elanie Hollinger — Arcanum High School, Arcanum; parents, Jason and Kim Hollinger
  • Hannah Mathey — Bowling Green Sr. High School, Bowling Green; parents, Shawn Mathey and Sujin Lee
  • Collin Messer — Grove City Area High School, Grove City; parents, Hugh and Elizabeth Messer
  • Amelia Swain — Hudson High School, Hudson; parents, Scott and Sue Swain
  • Sarah Swiger — Jackson Center High School, Jackson Center; parents, Travis and Tina Swiger

“For more than 30 years, AMP’s scholarships program has promoted the benefits of living and working in a public power community and encouraged students in member communities to further their education,” said Jolene Thompson, AMP President and CEO. “Congratulations to this year’s outstanding scholarship recipients. We wish them well in their educational endeavors.”

Lyle B. Wright was a strong public power advocate who served on the AMP Board of Trustees from 1979 until his death in 1986. The $3,000 Wright scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors whose households receive electricity from an AMP member community. This year, 32 students were nominated for the Wright Scholarship; five recipients were selected based on their scholastic records, personal achievements and scores on a public power test.

Richard H. Gorsuch, who was dedicated to promoting the advantages of municipally owned electric systems, served as the organization’s president from 1983 until his death in 1987. The $3,000 scholarships in this program are awarded to graduating seniors whose parent or guardian is an employee of either a municipal electric system or AMP, or who is an elected official with responsibility for the electric system. This year, 23 students were nominated for this award; five recipients were selected based on their scholastic records, personal achievements and scores on a public power test.

Since 1988, AMP has awarded $468,000 through the scholarships program. For more information about the program, click here.