Newsroom Archive

AMP Awards Scholarships to 2021 Graduating High School Seniors

Published on: 04/21/2021

COLUMBUS, OH: American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of two scholarship programs.

The AMP Board of Trustees established the scholarship programs in memory of Richard H. Gorsuch and Lyle B. Wright, public power leaders who contributed significantly to the organization and municipal electric systems in the region.

The 2021 Lyle B. Wright Scholarship recipients are:

  • Gavin Carr — Walsh Jesuit High School, Cuyahoga Falls
  • Lyndsi Engels — Montpelier High School, Montpelier
  • Lauren Menke — Versailles High School, Versailles
  • Joshua Tuite — Schuylkill Haven Area High School, Schuylkill Haven

The 2021 Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarship recipients are:

  • Dylan Aron — Westover Christian Academy, Danville
    • Son of Mark Aron, Danville Utilities Multimedia Manager
  • Matthew Belcher — Warren Local High School, Marietta
    • Son of Anthony Belcher, AMP Belleville Hydroelectric Plant Operations and Maintenance Supervisor
  • Jillian Drinnon — Bryan High School, Bryan
    • Daughter of Rhonda Fisher Drinnon, Bryan City Attorney
  • Diana Johnson — Milton-Union High School, Troy
    • Daughter of Jyle Johnson, Tipp City Utilities Finance Clerk
  • Kyra Oldiges — Minster High School, Minster
    • Daughter of Craig Oldiges, Village of Minster Council Member

“Congratulations to these students on their outstanding achievements,” said Jolene Thompson, AMP President and CEO. “While we are helping support this impressive group of seniors in their educational endeavors, we are also honoring the memory of two great public power leaders and raising awareness of the benefits of public power.”

Lyle B. Wright was a strong public power advocate who served on the AMP Board of Trustees from 1979 until his death in 1986. The $3,000 Wright scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors whose households receive electricity from an AMP member utility. This year, 23 students were nominated for the Wright Scholarship; the recipients were selected based on their scholastic record, personal achievements and test scores. Four graduating seniors are receiving the 2021 Wright Scholarship.

Richard H. Gorsuch, who was dedicated to promoting the advantages of municipally owned electric systems, was the organization’s president from 1983 until his death in 1987. The $3,000 scholarships in this program are awarded to graduating seniors whose parent or guardian is an employee of either a municipal electric system or AMP, or who is an elected official with responsibility for the electric system. This year, 15 students were nominated for this award; the recipients were selected based on their scholastic record, personal achievements and test scores. Five graduating seniors are receiving the 2021 Gorsuch Scholarship.

Since 1988, more than $400,000 has been awarded through the AMP scholarship program. For more information about the program, click here.