Newsroom Archive

OMEA Holds Annual Meeting and Board Elections

Published on: 10/10/2018

COLUMBUS, OH: The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership. The elections took place during the American Municipal Power, Inc./OMEA Annual Conference, held Sept. 24-27 in Cleveland. The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities, with the community appointing the official as its representative to the Board.

Re-elected to the OMEA Board of Directors were the City of Cuyahoga Falls, represented by Mayor Don Walters; the City of Dover, represented by Mayor Richard Homrighausen; Village of Pioneer, represented by Mayor Ed Kidston; and the City of Wadsworth, represented by Mayor Robin Laubaugh. Additionally, Painesville City Council President Paul Hach and City of Newton Falls Mayor Lyle Waddell were elected as ex-officio members of the OMEA Board.

Following the election, the OMEA Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, as president of the Board. Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier, and Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth, were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

During the Annual Conference, the OMEA general membership selected five new honorary members:

  • Bill Pepple, Bryan
  • Mary Burns (deceased), Bryan
  • Lyle Waddell, Newton Falls
  • Jm Myers, Blanchester
  • Dale Good, St. Marys

View official news release