Newsroom Archive

Weygandt Honored with AMP DNA Award

Published on: 06/08/2018

Annual award recognizes outstanding employee

COLUMBUS, OH: Kyle Weygandt has been recognized as the American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) 2018 DNA Award recipient. Weygandt is the director of member safety, and has been with the Columbus-based organization since 2006.

Marc Gerken, AMP President/CEO initiated the annual award in 2008 to recognize an employee who advances AMP’s vision and mission — “to be public power’s leader in wholesale energy supply and value-added Member services,” and “to provide Members with the benefits of scale and expertise in providing and managing energy services,” respectfully.

To accomplish its vision and mission, AMP employees must believe in, and demonstrate, the core values of the organization: cooperation, integrity, innovation, action-oriented, effective communication and member focused. These values serve as the organization’s “DNA” and are a critical foundation to its ability to succeed and serve member communities. As such, Gerken believed it appropriate to establish a program that would recognize employees who best demonstrate the values/DNA of AMP as a way to highlight to both its staff and members the importance of the key organizational criteria it strives to meet.

Gerken asked the staff to nominate their fellow employees for the award. They were asked to provide not just the name, but the reasons why their nominee should receive the award.

During the award presentation, Gerken noted that in nominations Weygandt’s peers described him as a professional who is highly focused on serving others and is a tireless ambassador of AMP and public power.

Affectionately known as a “safety-guru,” Weygandt works diligently to ensure that member safety trainings are relevant and innovative. He holds accreditations of licensed safety professional and master safety administrator through the National Association of Safety Professionals, which have rendered him a reliable and trustworthy source of information regarding workplace safety topics.

“Kyle is highly focused on serving our members and is extremely deserving of the AMP DNA Award,” stated Gerken. “Kyle exemplifies AMP’s core values. He is a leader and a hard worker. We are proud to have Kyle as a member of the AMP team.”

Weygandt resides in Canton, Ohio.

View official news release


AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken (right) presents the 2018 AMP
DNA Award to Kyle Weygandt, director of member safety.