Newsroom Archive

AMP Receives Award for Sustainability Practices

Published on: 03/29/2018

COLUMBUS, OH: American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) received the GreenSpotLight Award from the City of Columbus in recognition of exemplary sustainability practices by a large business. The award follows the completion of several efficiency projects undertaken by AMP throughout 2017, as well as continued sustainability practices throughout the organization.

AMP completed a major facility improvement project in 2017, which included new white-reflective roofing, HVAC unit replacement, and the installation of energy efficient lighting and high-efficient water fixtures, which is expected to save 335,400 kWh annually. AMP continues its ongoing pollution reduction efforts, including recycling an average of 60,000 pounds of various materials every year.

GreenSpot is a membership-based program in Columbus that provides a framework to think about sustainability, as well as a way to log successes. Each year the GreenSpotLight Awards celebrate the accomplishments of three organizations who demonstrate excellence in sustainable business practices and demonstrate a significant effort to minimize their impact on the environment and Columbus.

As an organization, AMP is committed to the following sustainability principles:

  • Provide a balanced and sustainable power supply portfolio
  • Reduce our overall emissions profile
  • Use less, wherever possible
  • Make smart, forward-thinking investments in renewable technologies
  • Assist member communities in becoming more sustainable
  • Reach out to stakeholders and find collaborative opportunities
  • Lead by example

To view the Resolution of Expression presented to AMP by the City of Columbus, click here. To learn more about AMP’s sustainability principals and projects, visit the sustainability page on the AMP website.

View official news release


Columbus City Councilmember Emmanuel Remy (left) presents
AMP Director of Energy Policy and Sustainability Erin Miller
with the GreenSpotLight Award on March 29.