Newsroom Archive

American Public Power Association Recognizes AMP Members for Excellence in Public Power with RP3 Designation

Published on: 04/18/2014

OKLAHOMA CITY: Several American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) member utilities were awarded Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) recognition from the American Public Power Association (APPA) during the association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference held in Oklahoma City April 6-9.

The City of Wapakoneta Electric Department and the Cuyahoga Falls Electric System both received RP3 Diamond-level (highest level) designation, awarded to utilities that successfully meet 98-100 percent of the RP3 program criteria. Prior to this year, the Piqua Municipal Power System was the only AMP member to receive this level of designation. Wapakoneta and Cuyahoga Falls had previously received the designation in 2012.

Other AMP recipients for 2014-17 (with previously received designations) are:

Platinum Level

Danville Utilities Department (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)
City of Hamilton Electric Department (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)
Hillsdale Board of Public Utilities (2008, 2010, 2012)
Painesville Municipal Electric (2010, 2012)
Princeton Electric Plant Board (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)
Village of Minster (2007, 2009, 2011)
Westerville Electric Division (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)

Gold Level

City of Tipp City Electric (2008, 2010)
Marshall Electric Department (2008, 2010, 2012)
Oberlin Municipal Light & Power System (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)
Paducah Power System (2006, 2008, 2010, 2012)

AMP member communities with current RP3 designation awarded in previous years include:

Bowling Green Municipal Utilities (2011, 2013)
Cleveland Public Power (2013)
Coldwater Board of Public Utilities (2011, 2013)
Dover Light & Power (2011, 2013)
Ephrata Electric Division (2011, 2013)
New Martinsville Municipal Electric (2009, 2011, 2013)
Piqua Power System (2006, 2009, 2011, 2013)
Wyandotte Municipal Services (2011, 2013)

According to APPA, a total of 94 public power communities were awarded RP3 designation for 2014-17. The RP3 designation recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. The designation is for three years and a APPA member utility must reapply for the designation at the end of each three-year period.

"AMP and our members understand the importance of system reliability and operational efficiency," said AMP Assistant Vice President of Technical Services Michelle Palmer. "We commend the efforts of our members and send congratulations to all those awarded. The RP3 program helps utilities to make sure they are keeping up with standard best practices in public power."


View official news release