Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognizes municipal electric systems that have completed an innovative and/or unique project. Innovation as described in the dictionary is a new idea, device or method; the introduction of something new.


  • Project must have been completed prior to May 1, 2024.
  • Only one project per member may be submitted each year.
  • Project can only be submitted for an award one time.


  • Project should utilize new technology or existing technology in a unique way.
  • Creative uses of technology or new ideas within the electric utility industry will be considered.
  • Research or pilot style programs submitted to DEED or EPRI may be eligible.
  • One award can be given in each division:
    • Division 1 - 0-999 meters
    • Division 2 - 1,000 to 4,999 meters
    • Division 3 - 5,000 to 8,999 meters
    • Division 4 - 9,000 or more meters