Executive Management Team

Jolene Thompson
Executive Vice President of Member Services and External Affairs

Jolene Thompson has been with AMP since 1990 and currently serves as executive vice president of member services and external affairs. She is also the executive director of the Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA), the legislative liaison to AMP and Ohio’s municipal electric systems, and the general manager of the Municipal Energy Services Agency (MESA).

Thompson, active nationally, serves as chair-elect of the American Public Power Association (APPA) Board of Directors, she also serves on the executive committee and is chair of the non-dues revenue committee. Additionally, Thompson is an active member of the Transmission Access Policy Study (TAPS) Group Board of Directors where she serves on the executive committee and as chair of the legislative committee. She previously chaired the APPA Advisory and Legislative and Resolutions committees, and has been a member of the Nominations and Awards Committee three times.

Thompson is a recipient of APPA’s Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in journalism from Otterbein University. She advocates with state and federal policymakers on behalf of AMP and its members and led the environmental permitting and public relations teams that worked on AMP generation projects in multiple states. She headed up the launch of the $26-million Efficiency Smart program for AMP members, and has overseen major human resource and benefit program updates.

As executive vice president of member services and external affairs, Thompson provides oversight to AMP’s government relations, communications, technical services, environmental affairs, sustainability initiatives, risk, insurance, strategic planning and member programs. This includes leading the organization’s environmental, safety and North American Electric Reliability (NERC) compliance activities.