OMEA Holds Annual Meeting and Board Elections

Published on: 09/26/2019

COLUMBUS, OH: The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership. The elections took place during the American Municipal Power, Inc./OMEA Annual Conference, held Sept. 23-25 in Columbus. The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities.

Re-elected to four-year terms on the OMEA Board of Directors are the Village of Edgerton, Village of Montpelier, City of Napoleon and the City of Orrville.

Additionally, the City of Painesville was elected as ex-officio member of the OMEA Board.

Following the election, the OMEA Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, as president of the Board. Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier, and Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth, were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

During the Annual Conference, the OMEA general membership selected four new honorary members:

Sue Kelly – retiring president and CEO of the American Public Power Association

Pat Parish – retired village administrator of the Village of Lakeview

Kraig Noble – retiring law director of the City of St. Marys

Travis Sheaffer – retiring Napoleon City Council member and Chair of the Council Electric Committee.