Newsroom Archive

OMEA Holds Annual Meeting and Board Elections

Published on: 10/13/2020

COLUMBUS, OH: The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership. The elections took place virtually on Sept. 30, during its annual general membership meeting. The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities.

Re-elected to four-year terms on the OMEA Board of Directors are:

  • City of Celina, represented by Mayor Jeffrey Hazel
  • City of Hamilton, represented by Council Member Michael Ryan
  • City of Oberlin, represented by Council Member Kristin Peterson
  • City of St. Marys, represented by Mayor Patrick McGowen

The City of Painesville, represented by Council President Paul Hach, was elected to a one-year term as ex-officio member of the OMEA Board.

Additionally, the OMEA Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee:

  • Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, as president of the Board
  • Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier; and
  • Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth.

The OMEA general membership selected new honorary members, OMEA Honorary Membership is bestowed on individuals whose dedication and service on behalf of public power has been of the highest order:

  • Marc Gerken, AMP
  • Roy Johnson, Carey
  • Mayor Lance Bowsher, Edgerton
  • Mayor Randy Heath, Jackson
  • Bill Sheward, Jackson
  • Dennis Clapp, Napoleon
  • Dick Smith, Orrville
  • John Lockard, Pemberville
  • Bob Bowman, Piqua
  • Dennis Faller, Wapakoneta
  • Floyd Longwell, Woodsfield