Newsroom Archive

2019 AMP/OMEA Annual Conference

Published on: 09/30/2019

COLUMBUS, OH:  More than 375 participants took part in the 2019 American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP)/Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) Annual Conference, held in Columbus, Sept. 23-25.

Following AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken’s opening remarks regarding major disruptors within the industry, AMP and OMEA welcomed Sue Kelly, President/CEO of the American Public Power Association to join Gerken for an unplugged discussion, moderated by Steve Dupee, AMP Board of Trustees Chair, as both Gerken and Kelly prepare for their impending retirements and reflect upon what’s to come for public power.

Conference participants also heard from Judy Chang of the Brattle Group discussing trends and drivers in the power industry and how these changes are driving value for different types of resources.

The conference included sessions covering a number of topics and trends in the power industry – including updates on efforts to control transmission costs, incentives available to assist customers with peak shaving and separate power supply agreements, the impact of electric vehicles on residential distribution systems, programs to support AMP members with technology needs and the annual federal legislative update. AMP and the OMEA would like to thank all of the outstanding speakers for participating in this year’s conference.

In addition to the many sessions and events, AMP, OMEA and the various project participants held membership meetings throughout the three-day annual conference.

AMP Service Group and Board Elections

During the AMP General Membership Meeting, elections were held for expiring AMP Board of Trustees seats from 13 AMP Service Groups.  The AMP member communities of Bowling Green, Cleveland, Clyde, Coldwater, Danville, Ephrata, Hamilton, Paducah, Philippi, Piqua, Wadsworth and Westerville, as well as the Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation (DEMEC), were elected to three-year terms.

Following the General Membership Meeting, the AMP Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the coming year. The following individuals were elected to leadership positions:

                        Chair – Jeff Brediger, City of Orrville

                        Vice Chair – Robert Patrick, City of Wadsworth

                        Secretary – Kevin Maynard, City of Bryan

                        Treasurer – Patrick McCullar, DEMEC

OMEA Board Leadership Elections

During the OMEA General Membership Meeting, elections were held for four expiring seats of the OMEA Board of Directors. Re-elected to four-year terms on the OMEA Board of Directors are the Village of Edgerton, Village of Montpelier, City of Napoleon and the City of Orrville.

Additionally, the City of Painesville was elected as ex-officio member of the OMEA Board.

Following the election, the OMEA Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, as president of the Board. Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier, and Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth, were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

AMP Wall of Fame Inductees Announced

Mike Weadock and John Coyle were announced as honorees for the AMP Wall of Fame during the Annual Awards Banquet on Sept. 24.

Weadock served as the safety service director for the City of St. Marys and as Chair of the AMP Board of Trustees from 2000 to 2005. He is also an OMEA Honorary Member.

Coyle is a partner at the law firm of Duncan and Allen and has provided a great deal of important legal work to AMP and our member communities over the years.

The AMP Wall of Fame was launched in 2010 to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to AMP, the OMEA and to public power in our member communities. The AMP Wall of Fame includes the names of individuals who have left an indelible mark. 

A formal induction ceremony will be held during an AMP Board of Trustees meeting in spring of 2020.

AMP Seven Hats Award

Mike DeFinis, borough manager, Borough of Hatfield, Pa., was named recipient of the prestigious AMP Seven Hats Award during the Awards Banquet on Sept. 24. Initiated in 1984 to recognize utility managers who serve smaller communities, the AMP Seven Hats Award is presented annually to an official in a community of less than 2,500 electric meters. Award winners show skill in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, personnel or employee direction, and community leadership.

Awards were also given to individuals and communities in the categories of electric system sustainability, innovation, public power promotion, safety and system improvement.

AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken (right) joins APPA President/
CEO Sue Kelly (left) and AMP Board Chairman Steve Dupee
in a discussion on the public power sector at the 2019 AMP/
OMEA Conference.