Newsroom Archive

AMP Members Receive National Attention for Excellence in Reliability

Published on: 04/24/2019

COLUMBUS, OH: Several American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP) member utilities were awarded Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) recognition from the American Public Power Association (APPA) during the association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference held in Colorado Springs, Colo., April 1-3.

Bryan Municipal Utilities and the City of Wadsworth Electric and Communications received RP3 Diamond Level (highest level) designation, awarded to utilities that successfully meet 98-100 percent of the RP3 program criteria. In prior years, Bryan Municipal Utilities received the Platinum designation and the City of Wadsworth Electric and Communications received the Platinum and Diamond designations.

The following AMP members received RP3 designations in the Gold Level:

Gold Level
Town of Berlin (Md.) Electric Utility
Town of Front Royal

AMP member communities with current RP3 designations awarded in previous years include:

Diamond Level
Cleveland Public Power
Cuyahoga Falls Electric System
Dover Light & Power
Hamilton Electric Department
Hudson Public Power
Paducah Power System
Piqua Municipal Power System
Village of Versailles Electric Department
Wapakoneta Electric Department

Platinum Level
Bowling Green Municipal Utilities
Coldwater Board of Public Utilities
City of Dover Electric Department (DEMEC)
Borough of Ephrata Electric Division
Jackson Center Municipal Electric
New Martinsville Municipal Electric Utility
Princeton Electric Plant Board
St. Clairsville Electric
City of Tipp City Electric
Westerville Electric Division

Gold Level
Danville Utilities Department
Hillsdale Board of Public Utilities
Borough of Lansdale Electric Department
Lewes Board of Public Works (DEMEC)
Village of Minster Electric Department
Oak Harbor Public Power
Orrville Utilities
Painesville Municipal Electric
City of Seaford Electric Department (DEMEC)

“AMP and our members understand the importance of system reliability and operational efficiency,” said Michelle Palmer, AMP vice president of technical services. “We commend the efforts of our members and send congratulations to all those awarded. The RP3 program. The RP3 program is based on industry-recognized best practices.  Utilities receiving the award have demonstrated a commitment to reliability and safety.”

According to APPA, 48 public power communities were awarded RP3 designations during the conference. The RP3 designation, which is a three-year designation, recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development and system improvement. 

View official news release