Newsroom Archive

Annual AMP/OMEA Conference Continues to be a Success

Published on: 10/10/2018

COLUMBUS, OH:  More than 300 participants took part in the 2018 American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP)/Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) Annual Conference, held in Cleveland Sept. 24–27.

Following the welcome from AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken and his opening remarks regarding major disruptors within the industry, AMP and OMEA welcomed Sue Kelly, President/CEO of the American Public Power Association. Kelly provided an update on challenges and opportunities currently facing public power. Conference participants also heard from Steve Collier of Milsoft Utility Solutions, discussing new technologies and business models disrupting the industry, and from Kelly Daly, an industry expert providing an update on how industries across the globe are using drones and what regulations are to be considered. 

During the conference, participants were able to attend panel discussions regarding energy market trends – including the value of local generation, an overview of electric vehicle technologies and charging infrastructure, best practices for crisis communications and social media strategy, and state and federal legislative updates. AMP and the OMEA would like to thank all of the outstanding speakers for participating in this year’s conference.

In addition to the many sessions and events, AMP, OMEA and the various project participants held membership meetings throughout the four-day annual conference.

AMP Board Elections
During the AMP general membership meeting, elections were held for the AMP Board of Trustees for four expiring at-large seats. The AMP member communities of Bryan, Montpelier, Oberlin and Orrville were re-elected to three-year terms.

Following the general membership meeting, the AMP Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the coming year. The following individuals were elected to leadership positions:

    Chair – Steve Dupee, Village of Wellington
    Vice Chair – Jeff Brediger, City of Orrville
    Secretary – Robert Patrick, City of Wadsworth
    Treasurer – Patrick McCullar, Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation

OMEA Board Leadership Elections
During the OMEA general membership meeting, elections were held for the four expiring seats of the OMEA Board of Directors. Re-elected to the OMEA Board of Directors were the City of Cuyahoga Falls, represented by Mayor Don Walters; the City of Dover, represented by Mayor Richard Homrighausen; Village of Pioneer, represented by Mayor Ed Kidston; and the City of Wadsworth, represented by Mayor Robin Laubaugh. Additionally, Painesville City Council President Paul Hach and Newton Falls Mayor Lyle Waddell were elected as ex-officio members of the OMEA Board.

Following the general membership meeting, the OMEA Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, as president of the Board. Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier, and Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth, were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

AMP Seven Hats Award
Thomas D. Jones, executive borough secretary, Borough of Berlin, Pa., was named recipient of the prestigious AMP Seven Hats Award during the Awards Banquet on Sept. 26. Initiated in 1984 to recognize utility managers who serve smaller communities, the AMP Seven Hats Award is presented annually to an official in a community of less than 2,500 electric meters. Award winners show skill in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, personnel or employee direction, and community leadership.

Awards were also given to individuals and communities in the categories of electric system sustainability, finance, innovation, public power promotion, safety and system improvement. 

View official news release