Newsroom Archive

Beckhusen Honored with American Public Power Association Award

Published on: 06/23/2017

Annual award recognizes outstanding leader and manager

COLUMBUS, OH: Paul Beckhusen, Director of the Coldwater Board of Public Utilities, was named the 2017 recipient of the prestigious Mark Crisson Leadership and Managerial Excellence Award at the American Public Power Association National Conference in Orlando, Fla., on June 20. The award recognizes managers at a utility, joint action agency, or state or regional association who bring their organizations to new levels of excellence, lead by example, and inspire their employees and staff to improve processes, services, and operations. APPA is the service organization for the nation's more than 2,000 community-owned electric utilities who collectively serve more than 48 million people, about 14 percent of the nation’s electricity customers.

Beckhusen has been director of the Coldwater Board of Public Utilities since 2003. According to APPA, “he has developed a reputation as a respected leader who inspires his employees to elevate their performance. He challenges his team to seek innovative solutions to problems while providing guidance and strategic vision. Paul successfully aligned the Branch County Economic Growth Alliance with city departments including the electric utility—positioning the alliance for success in the community.”

“We are proud of the work Paul has done in Coldwater on behalf of the city and our customer-owners,” said Mayor Thomas Kramer. “Coldwater has benefitted from economic expansion and infrastructure improvements, customer service is a top priority, and we’ve again received the Reliable Public Power Provider platinum certification. These successes are attributable to Paul’s leadership.”

In addition to the individual award for Beckhusen, Coldwater Board of Public Utilities was also awarded the E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award at the conference. The award recognizes outstanding achievement and performance of the electric utility and improved service to customers.

“Paul has been a leader on the AMP board, and I can see how that leadership carries to his utility management in Coldwater,” said Marc Gerken, president/CEO of American Municipal Power, Inc. “He is very deserving of this honor.”

Beckhusen is a member of the AMP Board of Trustees, representing the Michigan Area Service Group since 2007. As a member of the board, he is chair of the AFEC Committee, vice chair of the Joint Ventures Oversight and Solar Project committees, and serves on the AMPGS, Efficiency Smart, Finance, Hydro Power Projects, IT, Nominating, Personnel, Policy and Power Supply & Generation Committees. He also previously served on the boards of the Michigan Municipal Electric Association and APPA.

View official news release


Paul Beckhusen receives the award from APPA Board Chair and 
Deputy Director of Independence, Mo., Power & Light Andrew
Boatright (right), and APPA Chair Elect and Fort Defiance, Az.,
Navajo Tribal Utility Authority General Manager Wally Haase (left).