Newsroom Archive

Mayor Richard Homrighausen Re-elected President of the OMEA Board of Directors

Published on: 10/04/2016

Wadsworth Mayor Robin Laubaugh and Montpelier Mayor Steve Yagelski elected to the OMEA Executive Committee

The Ohio Municipal Electric Association (OMEA) recently held elections for the organization’s Board of Directors and Board leadership. The elections took place during the American Municipal Power, Inc./OMEA Annual Conference, held Sept. 26-29 in Columbus.

The OMEA is guided by a 16-member Board of Directors, elected by their peers to staggered four-year terms. Board seats are held by OMEA member communities, with the community appointing the official as its representative to the Board. Re-elected to the OMEA Board of Directors were the City of Hamilton, represented by Vice Mayor Carla Fiehrer; the City of Oberlin, represented by Council President Scott Broadwell; and the City of St. Marys, represented by Mayor Pat McGowan. The City of Celina was newly elected to the Board and will be represented by Mayor Jeffrey Hazel.

Following the election, the Board of Directors held its annual reorganization meeting and re-elected Mayor Richard Homrighausen, City of Dover, to an 18th term as president of the Board. Mayor Steve Yagelski, Village of Montpelier, and Mayor Robin Laubaugh, City of Wadsworth, were re-elected to the Board’s three-member Executive Committee.

The OMEA Board formally recognized and honored longtime legislative counsel Keith Brooks for his many years of service to the organization and to public power communities in the State of Ohio. Brooks has represented Ohio municipal electric communities for more than 30 years and is retiring at the end of 2016. A resolution adopted by the membership notes that Brooks “has been engaged in numerous legislative battles before the Ohio General Assembly, including historic legislation such as House Bill 27 (service territory), Senate Bill 3 (deregulation), Senate Bill 221 (renewable energy), numerous state budget bills and countless other legislation.”

View official news release