Newsroom Archive

Annual AMP and OMEA Conference a Great Success

Published on: 11/06/2013

COLUMBUS: Nearly 500 participants took part in the 2013 AMP/OMEA Conference held in Columbus Oct. 28-31, a record attendance for this annual event. Technology, the future of public power, industry trends and developments were a few of the many topics covered this year during presentations, sessions and panel discussions.

Following the Conference Opening Session with AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken, AMP and OMEA welcomed Mark Crisson, president and CEO of the American Public Power Association, with a presentation regarding challenges and opportunities facing the public power industry. During the conference, participants were able to attend panel discussions regarding natural gas trends and municipal financing oversight. There were also sessions covering topics such as construction law, State and Federal legislative updates, FERC and other federal regulatory issues affecting public power, mutual aid and smart grid services for AMP members. AMP and the OMEA would like to thank all of the outstanding speakers.

In addition to the many sessions and events, AMP, OMEA, and the various project participants held membership meetings throughout the four-day annual conference.

American Municipal Power, Inc. Board of Trustees
The following AMP member communities were elected by members of the various service groups to represent them on the AMP Board of Trustees:

  • Bowling Green, Ohio
  • Carey, Ohio
  • Cleveland, Ohio
  • Coldwater, Michigan
  • Danville, Virginia
  • Ephrata, Pennsylvania
  • Hamilton, Ohio
  • New Martinsville, West Virginia
  • Piqua, Ohio
  • Wadsworth, Ohio
  • Westerville, Ohio

Additionally, the Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation retained its seat on the 20-member AMP Board of Trustees.

During the Board reorganization meeting, the following individuals were re-elected to officer positions on the Board:



Jon Bisher
City Manager, Napoleon, Ohio
Vice Chair


Steve Dupee
Director, Oberlin Municipal Light & Power System


Tracy Reimbold
Finance Director, Newton Falls, Ohio


Pam Lucas
Village Manager, Montpelier, Ohio

Ohio Municipal Electric Association Board of Directors
The following OMEA member communities were elected by OMEA members as representatives to the Board of Directors:

  • St. Clairsville, Ohio
  • Bryan, Ohio
  • Westerville, Ohio
  • Tipp City, Ohio
  • St. Marys, Ohio (Ex-Officio member)

During the Board reorganization meeting, Dover, Ohio Mayor Richard Homrighausen was re-elected to a one-year term as President of the OMEA Board of Directors. Bryan, Ohio Mayor Douglas Johnson and St. Clairsville, Ohio Mayor Robert Vincenzo were re-elected to one-year terms on the Board’s Executive Committee.

AMP 7 Hats Award
Roy Johnson, village administrator for the Village of Carey and AMP Board member, received the prestigious 7 Hats Award during the Awards Banquet on Oct. 30. Johnson was presented the award by AMP President and CEO Marc Gerken for his outstanding accomplishments in utility management and service to his community. Johnson has served Carey for more than 23 years, starting at the wastewater treatment plant and becoming village administrator in 1997. Nominated by Carey Mayor Steven Smalley, Johnson currently oversees more than 30 employees in electric, public works, wastewater, police, tax and administrative departments.

Initiated in 1966 to recognize utility managers who serve smaller communities, the AMP 7 Hats Award is given annually to an administrator in communities of less than 2,500 electric meters. Award winners show skill in seven areas: planning and design, administration, public relations, field supervision, accounting, personnel or employee direction, and community leadership.

Awards were also given to individuals and communities in the categories of environmental stewardship, finance, innovation, public power promotion, safety, and system improvement.

American Municipal Power Wall of Fame
During the Conference, City of Wadsworth, Ohio Electric & Communication General Manager Gene Post was announced at the 2014 inductee to the AMP Wall of Fame.

In 2010, AMP created the American Municipal Power Wall of Fame to pay tribute to those individuals whose commitment, dedication and professionalism have contributed greatly to the success of AMP, our members and public power in general. The actual induction celebration will take place next spring at AMP Headquarters in Columbus.

Post has 40 years of experience in the electric and communication industry with the City of Wadsworth, holding the positions of Apprentice Lineman; Journeyman Lineman; Line Crew Leader; Assistant Superintendent; Superintendent; and General Manager. His dedication and knowledge truly represent the high ideals of public power. But equally important to AMP and our members is Post’s work on the AMP mutual aid program. He has served as Gold Sector Mutual Aid Coordinator for 15 years, and as Chairman of the Mutual Aid Committee 10 years. As chairman, Post has worked diligently not only in coordinating response when requests for help have been received, but in making sure that the program runs efficiently, including expanding the program to additional states as AMP membership has grown. He has also been an excellent resource for the American Public Power Association in their efforts to coordinate programs nationally. Post is retiring at the end of the year and he will be missed.

View official news release

  • Seven_Hats_Roy_Johnson

    AMP President/CEO Marc Gerken (left) presents the AMP Seven Hats Award to Roy Johnson, village administrator for the Village of Carey and AMP Board member, during the 2013 AMP/OMEA Conference Awards Banquet.