Newsroom Archive

Up to $14,000 in College Scholarships Available to High School Seniors in Municipal Electric Communities

Published on: 01/06/2011

COLUMBUS: Up to seven $2,000 one-time scholarships for graduating high school seniors are available from American Municipal Power, Inc. (AMP). Recipients will be announced in the spring for up to four Lyle B. Wright and up to three Richard H. Gorsuch scholarships. More than $194,000 has been presented to college-bound high school seniors by AMP since the scholarship program began in 1988.

The AMP Board of Trustees created the scholarship awards in memory of two distinguished leaders in public power history. Lyle B. Wright was a long-time public power advocate and AMP board member from Bowling Green, Ohio. Richard H. Gorsuch, a Westerville, Ohio resident, was president of AMP from 1983-1987.
Lyle B. Wright Scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors whose households receive electricity from an AMP member municipal electric system. Richard H. Gorsuch Scholarships are awarded to graduating seniors whose parents or guardians, or the students themselves are employed by an AMP member municipal electric system or by AMP.

Every AMP member system can nominate one student for each scholarship. Nominees must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale. Working with local school counselors, the municipal electric systems will make their nominations and forward them to AMP no later than January 28, 2011.

Nominees are asked to write an essay on an assigned public power topic. The essay scores are used to determine the finalists. Scholarship recipients are selected based on the essay, grade point average, personal achievements, and knowledge of public power.

View official news release